Our bed and breakfast is located in the heart of Taylors Falls on the hill overlooking downtown and the scenic river valley. It's situated next to the oldest public schoolhouse in Minnesota and across the street from the old train depot. At the top of the hill is The Historic Angel Hill District, a New England-style village that is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Make it a point to visit the Folsom House while you're up there and explore this beautiful little village that started in the 1840's!
Our main building started as a 1-story sandstone saloon built onto a cave in the hillside in 1869/1870. The cave was used to store the beer. Two more levels were added on in later years. The rumor is that an old two-story barn that was built in 1851 belonging to a hotel situated across the street, was moved and set on top of the old saloon. In 1884 the jail was built right next door, conveniently located right next door to the saloon. In the late 1970's, a woman by the name of Helen White purchased both buildings and turned the old Jail into Minnesota's first registered bed and breakfast.